A brocade on the Frank Hartung’s Black Rose guitar

Le January 7th, 2014 par Joris K. | Guit... art | Guitares électriques | Lutheries

The luthier Frank Hartung just announced on his Facebook page the launch of “Black Rose”, an electric guitar limited to 25 models. When I saw this guitar, I immediately asked for several pictures and information to Frank to write this post. The shape is based on the Junico guitar, which has a Mahogany body and neck, but with a table embellished with a black, gold and silver brocade (a rich fabric woven with a raised design). Other changes, the Rosewood fretboard is here in Ebony, and we will hear the sound of two Häussel Humbuckers under the chrome covers instead of the P90 pickups. The pickguard also disappeared, so the lucky 25 owners will be able to admire completely these finishes.

frank-hartung-guitar-black-rose-body

Tao Guitars goes neo-vintage for the T-Bucket

Le August 29th, 2013 par Joris K. | Guitares électriques | Lutheries

Thanks to a post on Premier Guitar, I discovered a really interesting brand: Tao Guitars. But instead of talking about their wonderful Phaeton model for a price of 18000€ (no, there is not a zero too many), I will speak about the new T-Bucket series, a reimagined Telecaster electric guitar in a “neo-vintage” style. It is particulary the blue one that attracted my attention. The American alder body and the quartersawn 22 cases maple neck are well selected to provide the best materials. The small dot inlays, put on the top, do a perfect link between the neck and the rosewood fingerboard. The Tao custom fretting offers a better comfort for the guitarist, and each materials were carefully selected, making this handmade instruments real masterpieces. For the sound, we can find two Custom Bare Knuckle pickups or two optional Custom Stephens Design, covered by handmade pickup covers with cuttings and black front grill rubber. Check out more pictures in the following post, and also a Brice Delage video review for La Guitare.com. Prices start at 2990€.

tao-guitars-t-bucket

Third Eye London’s Burning Baritone Dark Red

Le August 2nd, 2013 par Joris K. | Electric guitars

The French brand from Lyon presents the new Eric Poncet (Chunk! No, Captain Chunk!) signature, the Third Eye London’s Burning Baritone Dark Red. As a reminder, Third Eye is a brand of Custom 77 proposing satin guitars that I had the chance to discover during my review of the Third Eye Lust For Life Twin Black. But let us return to this magnificent Les Paul shape with a flamed maple top on the mahogany body. The Gotoh silver hardware contrasts with the speed knobs, which bring a darker aspect to the guitar. The 24 frets neck has a 60′s profile. Both Bare Knuckle Painkiller humbuckers offers fast bass response and aggressive upper mid impact, perfect for the Progressive Technical Metal styles such as Djent. Shipped with a “Deluxe” guitar case for 795€.

third-eye-londons-burning-baritone-dark red

Review of the Third Eye Lust For Life Evil Twin Black

Le May 10th, 2013 par Joris K. | Guitares électriques | Reviews

Remember the Third Eye Lust For Life, rediscovered after the great artist PEZ redesigned it in this post. The brand of Custom 77, Third Eye, launched a version two times more evil with the Lust For Life Evil Twin Black, reviewed in the following post…

third-eye-lfl-evil-twin-black

Paul Reed Smith P22 Trem: the best of both worlds is versatile

Le April 10th, 2013 par Joris K. | Electric guitars

When we mention “the best of both worlds”, some people think about the Star Trek episode. But it is also how PRS Guitars presents its new model, the P22 Trem. This title was also given to the other P22 because it also offers two output jacks. The change is easily noticeable here: the new PRS Piezo Tremolo, even more versatile. The Maple top is still here, but can be quilted or flamed. Presented here in a Black Gold Burst color, it will be available soon in not less than 20 finishes. Musikmesse visitors can see this model right now in Frankfurt, and those who do not have this opportunity can discover it in the following post video.

prs-guitars-p22-trem

Un brocart sur la « Black Rose » du luthier Frank Hartung

Le 07/01/2014 par Joris K. | Guit... art | Guitares électriques | Lutheries

Le luthier Frank Hartung a annoncé sur sa page Facebook le lancement de la « Black Rose », une guitare électrique en édition limitée à 25 exemplaires. Lorsque que j’ai vu une photo du modèle, j’ai vite demandé plusieurs autres clichés et infos à Frank pour rédiger cet article. La forme de cette guitare est basée sur le modèle Junico dont le corps et le manche sont en acajou, mais la table a ici été ornée d’un brocart (une étoffe de soie brochée d’or ou d’argent) de couleurs noire, dorée et argentée. Autres changements, la touche en palissandre a été remplacée par de l’ébène, et on pourra entendre le son de deux Häussel Humbuckers sous les capots chromés à la place des P90. Le pickguard a aussi disparu pour que les 25 chanceux acquéreurs puissent profiter pleinement des finitions.

frank-hartung-guitar-black-rose-body

Tao Guitars mise sur le « neo-vintage » pour sa T-Bucket

Le 29/08/2013 par Joris K. | Guitares électriques | Lutheries

C’est grâce à un article de Premier Guitar que j’ai découvert une marque qui vaut le détour : Tao Guitars. Mais plutôt que de parler de leur magnifique Phaeton à 18000€ (non, il n’y a pas de zéro en trop), je vais m’orienter vers la nouvelle série T-Bucket, une guitare électrique aux formes de Telecaster réimaginées dans un style « neo-vintage ». C’est plus particulièrement cette version en bleu glacier qui a attiré toute mon attention. Son corps est en aulne américain et elle possède un manche 22 cases de type quartersawn en érable, avec une touche en palissandre. Les repères discrets sont situés sur la partie supérieure et lient parfaitement le manche aux touches. Le frettage a été customisé pour que le guitariste ait un meilleur confort de jeu, et les bois et matériaux ont été soigneusement sélectionnés, faisant de ces guitares de vraies œuvres d’art. Pour le son, on retrouve soit deux micros Bare Knuckle Custom, soit deux Stephens Design Custom en option, couverts par des capots chromés faits à la main et incrustés de bandes noires en caoutchouc. A découvrir en image dans la suite de l’article, mais aussi en vidéo avec un test de Brice Delage pour La Guitare.com. Prix à partir de 2990€.

tao-guitars-t-bucket

Third Eye London’s Burning Baritone Dark Red

Le 02/08/2013 par Joris K. | Guitares électriques

La marque lyonnaise présente la nouvelle signature de Eric Poncet du groupe Chunk! No, Captain Chunk!, la Third Eye London’s Burning Baritone Dark Red. Pour rappel, Third Eye est une marque de Custom 77 proposant des guitares aux finitions satinées que j’ai eu la chance de découvrir lors de mon test de la Third Eye Lust For Life Twin Black. Mais revenons à cette magnifique forme Les Paul à la finition feuille d’érable flammée sur la table du corps en acajou. L’accastillage argenté Gotoh contraste avec les boutons et les contours de micros noirs, accentuant l’aspect sombre de la guitare. Le manche possède 24 frettes et a un profil fin type années 60. Les deux micros Bare Knuckle Painkiller offrent un son précis en distorsion, idéal pour les styles de Metal techniques tel que le Djent. Livrée avec un étui droit « Deluxe » pour 795€.

third-eye-londons-burning-baritone-dark red

Test de la Third Eye Lust For Life Evil Twin Black

Le 10/05/2013 par Joris K. | Guitares électriques | Tests

Rappelez-vous de la Third Eye Lust For Life, redécouverte après une customisation par l’artiste PEZ dans cet article. La marque de Custom 77, Third Eye, a lancé une version deux fois plus diabolique avec la Lust For Life Evil Twin Black, en test dans la suite de l’article…

third-eye-lfl-evil-twin-black

Paul Reed Smith P22 Trem : le meilleur des deux mondes est versatile

Le 10/04/2013 par Joris K. | Guitares électriques

Quand on évoque « le meilleur des deux mondes », certains pensent tout de suite à l’épisode de Star Trek. Mais c’est aussi comme ça que PRS Guitars présente son nouveau modèle, la P22 Trem. Ce titre était déjà donné à sa petite sœur, la P22, puisqu’elle embarquait déjà deux sorties jack. Le grand changement ici est remarquable : un nouveau chevalet PRS Piezo Tremolo, offrant plus de possibilités de jeu. Le bois de la table, lui, ne change pas. C’est toujours de l’érable, mais il peut cette fois être tigré ou pommelé. Présentée ici dans une finition « Black Gold Burst » tigrée, elle sera à sa sortie disponible dans pas moins de 20 couleurs différentes. Les visiteurs du Musikmesse pourront déjà voir ce modèle dès aujourd’hui à Francfort, et ceux qui n’ont pas cette chance peuvent déjà la découvrir en vidéo dans la suite de l’article.

prs-guitars-p22-trem